Flying Through Florence

Today started with a private tour of the Accademia Gallery with our guide Yadri. It houses all sorts of mediums; photos to paintings to sculptures. More well known is Michelangelo’s statue of David. We couldn’t take pictures, but I learned this about the statue: 1.) David has butterflies carved into his eyes to give the appearance of contemplation and depth. Who woulda thought? 2.) The statue has many imperfections that are only visible if you’re looking for them. It doesn’t seem fitting that such a great symbol of Renaissance art should have any scratches, but I guess if you were 505 years old, you’d be feeling a bit worn down too.

From there, we walked past Brunelleschi’s Dome (which is the huge cathedral I wrote about earlier.) After a LONGGGG lecture about the dome, we walked through the back streets of Florence with Yadri leading the way. We came across Dante Aligheiri’s house (the famous author who wrote “The Divine Comedy”), and past Uffizi (a large art museum.) In front of Uffizi were a lot of statues of famous Florentines. Among those were “living statues” that scared the daylights out of us when they moved unexpectedly. I swear they could’ve passed for actual statues!

Afterwords we walked to Ponte Vecchio, where we said arrivederci to Yadri. 

Ponte Vecchio at right, and houses of Florence along the Arno River Ponte Vecchio at right, and houses of Florence along the Arno River at left

Later we walked through a huge market called  San Lorenzo Market, where we bought many more souveniers. Afterwards we went to dinner (I got lasagna :)) at an outside dining area. Everything went well in terms of getting on the waiter’s good side, until it came time to leave. When Dad stood up, he bumped the table with his knees. It was enough force to send olive oil and glass shards from the water pitcher into my lap. I was fine…but I can’t say the same for that water pitcher…

After our dash for the exit, we went to a gelato place called “Grom” that Yadri had recommended. We were exhausted, and headed back to the hotel for an early night.

Wow, it seems like just yesterday we arrived in Florence ready to see another side of Italy, and now tomorrow we are set to leave for Venice by train in the morning. In the end of it all, Florence was nice. It doesn’t have the same energy at night that we found in Rome, which was hard to adjust to, and it isn’t as liesurely as Rome when it comes to walking around and eating. However, it has just as much history to it as Rome, and there are a lot of “foodies” here (people who enjoy the preparation and eating of good food) like myself, so I felt right at home in that sense.

Well I have an early day tomorrow, so I’ll write again when I’m in Venezia! Ciao!

5 responses to “Flying Through Florence

  1. Lance and Carol

    What a great way to “visit” a place; makes it so much more alive than a commercial travelog, to have it described thru your eyes and ears.

    Have a good trip home; ‘taint over til its over.

    Love, Grma and Grpa

  2. Ciao Bella!!!!

    I just spent the day with your mom in Rockport/Gloucester and really missed having you guys with us!! So she gave me the websites for your blogs and I have been reading all of your posts and they make me smile! I think this was a great idea and I wish I could have done this when I was in Italia! (BTW, your blog is amazing:), I think a career in journalism is definately a possibility!)

    I hope you are having the time of your lives (I feel a song coming on…) and you are loving Italia! Doesn’t it feel so surreal to be in these towns that are hundreds of years old, sometimes I felt that I was at a theme park because of how picture perfect everything looked!

    Ok, a couple of things….
    A — my mom says to remind you to look for gelato stores that sell “self-made” gelato, believe me it makes a huge difference!
    B — I am disappointed that you guys weren’t rebelious and took pictures of David!! Also did you get to go see the fake David in the statue garden? That’s were we took lots of pictures of him
    C — I am sure you have taken some time to admire the men of Italia , but don’t you think twice of pulling a Lizzie McGuire and running off with the first Paulo who says “Ciao Bella!” (btw – we though Venice had the best looking guyss – so keep a look out 🙂
    D — Your mom and we have made lots of plans following your trips (including a trip to the North End in Boston and probably a beach day with you guys too!) so don’t tire your self out with your travels you globe trotter because we have big plans for the rest of the summer!!!

    Ok, I had way too much fun writing to you and now I have to make a trip over to your sista’s blog to leave her a note! I am really surprised that this comment box didn’t cut me off like most blog commenting things do because I always talk to much 🙂

    Love yas!
    Alex

  3. Hi Miss. Bibbins,
    Florence sounds lovely. I like the FYI’s about the statue of David. I will have to look for the butterflys next time.

    Next time tell me more about the lasagna..LOL!

  4. mmmmm… everything sounds so yummy! I wish I could try it! 🙂

  5. Wow, lovely absolutely lovely…Ms. Foodie

Leave a Reply

