Wyoming: Year 3

Tomorrow, Mom, Scott, Rachel and I fly to Wyoming via Salt Lake City, Utah. It’s our third year visiting Triangle X Ranch in Moose, Wyoming, and I’d be lying if I didn’t say that the excitement in our house is tangeable at this point.

When we arrive, we’ll explore the ranch, see what’s changed since years past, and greet newcomers, as well as people we’ve already met. Later we’ll head down to the campfire where the ranch owners will speak a bit about the local news, and things we should be aware of during our stay. Then T.J., the head wrangler (a fancy name for trail guide) will talk about the horses, trail rides, etc… and find out a bit about each guest. This way, he gets the complicated task of pairing up guests with horses.

One of my favorite parts of the week is Monday morning (at the ranch anyway.) Everyone heads down to the corral after breakfast and finds out who their horse is. Immediately following is the gossip: “Oh, I love that horse!”, “I had that horse last year, good luck.”, and the very common “Does anyone know who my horse is? No? Oh great I’m flying blind.”

Trail rides happen twice a day. We cover trotting and loping, and if you’re lucky, galloping. Every age group is assigned a wrangler, and they (the wranglers) range from fresh-out-of-college to been-there-foreverrrrrrr. The rides are scenic, and offer something new every day.

After everyone’s gotten their bearings on the horses, and had some time in their own groups, all the families take a ride up to a campground for dinner. This is where we met former Vice President Dick Cheney two years ago :-O

Dick Cheney, Rachel, and Me

Dick Cheney, Rachel, and Me

Other activities over the week include: an overnite at a nearby campground for the teens, a trip into town to see a rodeo, a trip into town to a water park for the kids, and lots of other fun events for kids, teens, adults, and families together.

So the reason I’m writing about this NOW is because there’s no internet at the ranch, but I can’t wait to write more about my trip when I get back!

3 responses to “Wyoming: Year 3

  1. Lance and Carol

    Sounds like you’re going to have lots of fun again, and learn too. This will be a summer to remember!!!

    Grandma and Grandpa

  2. Remember my advice: Pick the one they call “Pokey.”

    Luv ya!

  3. Dick Cheney?! I LOVE Dick Cheney! If you see him again, give him a big fat kiss from me.

    Have SO MUCH fun, Amanda – hope you get a great horse!

    love,
    Kim

Leave a Reply

