Giving Thanks Through Traditions

Today’s blog is brought to you by the word: thanks. It seems to be the word on everyone’s mind this week.

***

My Thanksgiving was pretty normal: football game in the morning, big meal of turkey, stuffing, etc… with the family in the afternoon.

My Black Friday, however, is NEVER normal. A long time ago we came up with the tradition of watching Irving Berlin’s White Christmas the Friday after Thanksgiving with Ann, Don, Caroline, Evan, LaLa, and of course, all the doggies. Each year someone else hosts, and by now we each own a copy of the movie.

(Top from left to right) Ann, Amanda, Rachel, Beccy (Bottom) Caroline and Abby

From there, our tradition has morphed into a costume party. Actually, it’s more of a contest– a battle for who can come up with the wackiest, most accurate, prettiest, or in the other night’s case, the “tappiest” costume (kudos to Ann for pulling that one off.) And then, there are always those who prefer to keep it simple and wear the ever-favorite Santa hat. Awards range from the Golden Tap Shoes, to a plunger, to The Pajama Game on DVD, found at the Dollar Store.

After we reveal our true selves in 1950s fashion, we settle down to watch the movie, reciting our favorite lines, and  throwing around the ones we still don’t understand, like: “Well how do you like that? Not so much as a kiss my foot or haaaaaaave an apple!” We poke fun at Vera Ellen for her abnormally petite figure, and Rosemary Clooney for the abnormally large figure she fills out in her later years.

***

So among these semi-awkward yet  totally fun traditions is an underlying question: What on Earth am I thankful for? Every year in church, at the dinner table, in school, I’m asked the same question. The obvious answer would be: my family, my friends, my health, etc… They’re all very important things in life and by no means do I want to take them for granted, but I feel like a broken record; it should go deeper than that. “Friends” and  “family” just can’t describe how grateful I am for the people in my life that seem to make the world turn. We all have those people, so here’s a shout out to some of them below:

  • all of you who are taking time out of your day to read this now, and all of you who go the extra mile to comment
  • my extended family, even if our visits happen to be as often as a solar eclipse
  • you who entertain my craziest thoughts, sit first row in the movie theater and scream during New Moon, and sing Christmas carols at the top of your lungs with me– not to mock me, but because we can…you know who you are 😉

To all of you, and I mean ALL of you– as the song goes: “You build me up Buttercup…I need you…You know that I have from the start…”<—(include wah wah wahs right here)  Thanks for being there.

6 responses to “Giving Thanks Through Traditions

  1. Pingback: Girls’ Getaway:Chapter 4 « Mum's the Word

  2. Great Post! I loved New Moon and White Christmas! I can’t wait until next year! 🙂

  3. That was wonderfully written Mandi. Its amazing that by just reading this one blog post it has made me think so much about what I am thankful for.
    So thank you for being there and laughing along with me and my crazy self 🙂
    Like you said ‘I need you more than anyone…You know that I have from the start’
    Love You!

  4. Mum’s the Word: Thank you for expressing yourself so honestly and for having the courage and forthrightness to do do. That–and being here to read those words–is what I am thankful for. And for your reminding me,
    Love and Gratitude,
    GP

  5. I’m grateful that your Mom wore those tights. ROWWWRRR!

    I’m grateful that Scott rolls with this goofy tradition.

    I’m grateful that Caroline’s Santa hat & beard combo was only a buck — a BUCK! Damn that was a steal.

    I’m grateful Evan made it this year, and mostly everyone stayed awake (mostly!) during the whole movie.

    I’m grateful that Rachel helped me to be the tappiest, even just for one evening.

    But mostly: I’m grateful for you and the memories we share, and that you put it all down on this blog, and that we are all so richly a part of each others’ lives. Obvious? Maybe. True? Heck, yeah.

    Also: Can you be grateful for 8-packs? Or just appreciate them? (Insert cougar growl here….)

    Love you!

    p.s. I like the added functionality on here.. nice!

  6. I’m so thankful for you! You made my day. Heck you (and Ra) make all my days…

    Love ya

Leave a Reply

