In Like a Lion, Out Like a Lamb…

Is anyone else in the North Shore area diggin’ this weather?  Welcome home spring! Typically I dread the muggy overcast March days, but after a seemingly long slushy winter, I’m beginning to wrap my head around the arrival of warmth.

I know it’s been a few months since I last posted, and trust me, I haven’t forgotten about those of you who are dedicated to checking up on my blog every day. I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth, but I have fallen into the excitement that is high school.

If you read my post  A First Time for Everything, you know how excited I was to start high school back in September. And although I can’t say I share the same thrill that my alarm feels at 6am every morning, I can say that there’s never a dull moment in high school.

So let’s see what’s new… I am working at my martial arts academy as a Junior Instructor as of February…so exciting! I gave a testimony about my experiences in martial arts, with shaky knees but conviction in the words I wrote. I’m still in band, and somewhat of an assistant in the Jazz Band. I’m also in my third year of Clarinet Choir for NYSO (North Shore Youth Symphony Orchestra), which is a select group of clarinetists from the area. I’m learning how to conduct, and I’ll actually be conducting a piece titled “Spring” (how appropriate) in an upcoming concert. I joined Photo Club, and the mentoring program, which allows high schoolers to be advisors to middle schoolers. All in all, I’m a busy girl, and that doesn’t even include balancing friends, family, and a relationship.

But I’m not one to complain. In Sifu’s words: “Even in the worst of days, nobody can take my happiness away.”

I feel like this school year has flown by. Typically this would be reason enough to celebrate, but the reality of the situation is starting to sink in. There will be a day when my best friends won’t be a five-minute car ride and a text message away. There will be a time when my year won’t be regulated by my school hours and vacations. The truth is, that time is sooner than later. Even scarier: I spent my whole life wishing I was older, looking forward to the stage of my life that I’m in right now. And now I have to savor it, and make the most of it in the next 3 1/2 years, because in the blink of an eye it will be gone.

That’s why my best friend and I have created a list of 50 Things To Do Before We Graduate. Our idea was modeled after an MTV show called The Buried Life. On the show, four guys try to do 100 of the most impossible things before they die. For each task they accomplish, they try to help a stranger cross something off their own list. While nothing on our list includes playing basketball with Obama, or dancing with Ellen Degeneres, our tasks are equally important to us, or just plain fun. We are determined to make the most of these years.

In short, I’m constantly learning, observing, and taking baby steps into the world of adulthood. I’m adapting, facing my fears, and coming to new realizations. And that’s what’s new with me.

4 responses to “In Like a Lion, Out Like a Lamb…

  1. Hey Mandy! Wow! you are a really great writer! Nice job! 🙂

  2. You write so well, Amanda! Really and truly, you do. In fact, you have so many talents we can’t see how you’re ever going to use them all. Remember to have fun too, but not too much of it.

    Bushels and tons of love,

    Grandma

  3. Mandi this is an incredible piece. And you are so right about all of it. Savor the moment, enjoy life, and don’t miss out anything. I’m proud to know that I’m your sister, knowing that you are on the right path and have your mind right where it should be-a mix of in the clouds and down to earth
    Great job!
    Love you

  4. Hey Mandi! Great to see you in the blogosphere again. I agree about it all flying by – enjoy your HS 50 (are all 50 left), and the 50’s after that! (I know how much I’m looking forward to my next 50…)

Leave a Reply

