Burg Eltz

April 19th, 2012

We took the train from Humboldt Gymnasium to a little town near the Mosel River. The group of us (9 rambunctious American teens, and 3 chaperones) walked through the town which was small and seemingly unperturbed. The houses were characteristic of a small German village, and the only people I saw were elderly people doing yard work. I felt a heap of guilt as we noisily walked through the small streets in the misty morning fog, like we were harming something beautifully innocent about the small town, and I and heaved a sigh of relief when we finally reached the entrance to the hiking trail.

We hiked a mild mile to Burg Eltz, a castle located deep in the woods among the mountains outside of Trier. The castle was gorgeous, with it’s tiers and courtyards.

20120516-230522.jpg

20120516-230530.jpg

We took a tour of the castle, and our tour guide spiced up what would have been a dry (beautiful, but dry!) tour. I don’t think it was intentional, but our tour guide talked EXACTLY like one of the men in “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”. For strictly entertainment value, I recorded an audio clip of him talking. I wish I could share it with you all…
Either way, I had to resist the urge to ask, “Shall three be the number of counting?!”

Our tour and lunch break was followed by a hike through the untraversed side of the forest, across an open field, and down a rocky mountainside, covered in loose shale. Much to one of our chaperone’s panting disapproval, we sprinted the majority of the way. There was a big risk we’d miss the train. And so, I told her to stop being a “Heulseuse” (crybaby), and ran after my peers. Can you blame me? It was a high adrenaline afternoon!

20120516-231813.jpg

We caught the train within mere seconds, and rode to our next stop: Cochem. Cochem was a cute town, clearly designated to appease tourists, nothing more. That kind of atmosphere was tiring, and so I explored the outskirts of the town, where the school and important town buildings were.

Culture: found!

Then we took the train back to Trier and I met up with Lena and her family once more, never more excited for a full night’s rest.

One response to “Burg Eltz

  1. This blog has inspired me to carry on working on my own blog

Leave a Reply

